Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Hello Giants Defense

How bout those G-Men.

Coming off a two year run where their defense got almost as much media coverage as the fella that shot himself in the foot. The Giants decide they want to add talent, add bodies, add speed to a pretty good defense.

3 Cheers for Jerry Reece. There's a man who knows how to build a football team.

You get 3 or 4 good defensive ends (Tuck, Osi, Kiwi, and throw in Canty with Dave Tollefson - just cause he's a nice guy), a good rotation of defensive tackles (Alford, Robbins, again Canty, and Rocky Bernard). They're needed to make sure the linemen dont tie up linebackers and safeties.

Then you get linebackers that can run and hit...alot...as far as that goes, it was a bit touch and go.
Carlos Emmonds wasnt THAT good. And Antonio Pierce is slower that Corey Widmer in his hay day. Yeah he likes to hit at the line of scrimmage, but Brian Westbrook is a problem. And if Felix Jones really develops, you could see alot of recieving touchdowns from guys that wear numbers 20-49. Michael Boley is supposed to be an athletic backer who can cover, but that now means we have ONE guy that can do that, and he's not proven it to me yet. So that's still a question.

Our secondary is rounding into shape. Corey Webster is a poor mans Nnamdi Asomugha. Ross needs to stop getting beaten on double moves. Kenny Phillips wants to live up to the Sean Taylor legacy of scaring loudmouth wideouts when they come across the middle, lets hope he does. And Michael Johnson plays with a chip on his shoulder, something every good saftey needs.

If everything works out, this could be a top flight defense. I wont say world class, we dont have a world class football player on that defense. Pierce thinks he is, but all that makes him is an angry linebacker with an ego. Osi and Tuck play hard and make big plays. But no one is truly afraid of them just yet. We dont have anyone that the D can rally around when you NEED someone to rally around. They dont have a face for that defense yet. Nor does it truly have a personality. Yeah Spags made them aggressive, but that's just the scheme. They dont have a style yet.

The never say die style of Ray Lewis, or the want to kill like Brian Dawkins, or the quiet swagger of a Derrick Brooks. We dont have that just yet. But we're getting there.

With the way things are going, we might get close.

No comments:

Post a Comment